Chitwan Tigers: Champion made with positive thinking and discipline

Chitwan Tigers: Champion made with positive thinking and discipline

24 September Kathmandu. Chitwan Tigers, who won the fourth edition of the Everest Premier League (EPL) this year, finished last out of six teams after winning just one game in the second edition. In the third edition, they showed some improvement and won two games and made it to the playoffs.

Chitwan, captained by Sompal Kami, won the EPL title for the first time by defeating Pokhara Rhinos by 4 wickets in the final in Kirtipur on Saturday. Chitwan received Rs 50 lakh in cash along with the trophy.

Champion created by Mihineto

Captain Sompal Kami said that his team won the title because of his positive attitude and discipline.

Chitwan, who became the champion after 19 games in this 16-day tournament, really deserved it. Chitwan performed equally in all the games. Both foreign and Nepalese players performed brilliantly.

‘We worked hard and went according to plan. There was a winning moment in every game,’ captain Sompal said after winning the title with fours in the final.

In the final, Chitwan invited Pokhara to bat after winning the toss. Kamal Singh Eri took 4 wickets and got Pokhara out for 112 runs. After Bhim Sharkey’s 63-run half-century, Chitwan completed the target in 25 balls for the loss of six wickets.

In the tournament, Chitwan won all three matches against Pokhara. In the league stage and first qualifier, Chitwan easily beat Pokhara by 9 wickets. In the final also, Chitwan maintained the same momentum and won the match by 4 wickets.

Brilliant performance by domestic player

Most of the time when there is a franchise league in Nepal, foreign players dominate. This time players like Shahid Afridi, who won the T20 World Cup, played in the EPL.

But Chitwan was not dependent on foreign players alone. The performance of the home team was decisive in making Chitwan the champion. Nepalese players performed well in bowling, batting and fielding.

The players of Chitwan also got all the three prizes distributed after the final. That too by all the domestic players.

Chitwan’s Sagar Dhaka became the man of the series. He took 14 wickets in 7 matches. He was also the highest wicket taker in an EPL match. Sagar received the Pulsar NS Motorcycle Award.

Similarly, Chitwan was the second and third highest wicket taker. Kamal Singh Eri of Chitwan took 12 wickets and Karim Jannat took 11 wickets. Chitwan’s Shahab Alam, who took eight wickets in six matches, finished sixth.

Kamal became the man of the match by taking 4 wickets in the final match, won the Dare to Dream Award and got 51,000 rupees in cash.

Similarly, Mohammad Shahzad of Chitwan scored the highest 207 runs. In which he scored a half-century. After that, Bhim Sarki of Chitwan scored the most runs. Batting in 6 innings in 7 matches, Bhim scored a total of 196 runs including two fifties and was the highest run-scorer among Nepalese players. He scored both the fifties against Pokhara.

Difficult to be a captain!

Sompal had played EPL for Kathmandu Kings 11 in the last two seasons. He reached Chitwan by trade before the fourth edition. Dipendra Singh Eri of Chitwan reached Kathmandu. But Deepender, who was injured in the Oman tour, lost the EPL this time. Sompal, on the other hand, won the title for Chitwan under his captaincy.

Sompal said it would be difficult to bring everyone in the team. “It’s difficult to captain. 15 people have different mindsets. Some are negative, some are positive. It was difficult to keep everyone in one place, but everyone in our team was young. I believed what he did,” Sompal said. Said. There was hunger for performance.’

Sompal had earlier led Team Chauraha Dhangarhi to the Dhangarhi Premier League (DPL) title under his captaincy.

Last time only half the players who played in the third season were in the Chitwan team this time. Sompal himself was new and four foreign players were also new. In other words, 3 foreigners and Sompal were new to the playing set. Of the remaining seven, five were Dilip Nath, Sagar Dhakal, Shahab Alam, Kamal Singh Eri and Bhim Sharki.

Lalit Bhandari and Adil Khan could not play this season due to injuries. In this, Chitwan had signed Rajesh Pulami this season. He proved Chitvan’s faith. In the opening match, Chitwan used three players in Shehzad’s pair but failed to do so. Ishaan Pandey, Khadga Bohra and Hasim Ansari did not do well in the opening.

श्रोत : अनलाइनखबर

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *