Chitwan won the EPL title while Pokhara lost by 4 wickets

Chitwan won the EPL title while Pokhara lost by 4 wickets

23 August, Kathmandu. Chitwan Tigers have won the Everest Premier League (EPL) 2021 with the help of brilliant bowling from Kamal Singh Eri and a half-century from Bhim Sarkar.

Chitwan defeated Pokhara Rhinos by 4 wickets in the final played at Tribhuvan Cricket Ground in Kirtipur on Saturday.

Chitwan completed Pokhara’s target of 112 runs losing 6 wickets in 15.5 overs. Bhim Sarki played 63 balls for Chitwan and scored 63 runs with the help of 7 fours and 2 sixes.

Similarly, Dilip Nath added 18 runs, Rajesh Pulmi scored 14 runs and Mohammad Shahzad added 11 runs. In the first over, Binod Bhandari caught Hasim Ansari off Nandan Yadav. In the next over, Karim Jannat was also caught by Richard Levy for zero off Kishore Mahto’s ball.

After Mohammad Shahzad was dismissed for 11 on the last ball of the fourth over, Chitwan lost 3 for 20 in 4 overs. Kishore got Shahzad caught by Vipin Rawal.

But then Bhim Sarki and Dilip Nath handled Chitwan’s innings. Both scored half-centuries to lay the foundation for Chitwan’s victory. Bhim and Dileep shared a 54-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

Dilip Nath got out for 18 in the 12th over. Kishore Mahto got Dileep out caught by Lokesh Bam. Rajesh Pulami scored 14 runs on the first ball of the 15th over and was bowled by Nandan Yadav.

Bhim, who scored the highest 63 runs, got out in the 16th over. Bhim Kishore Mahto’s delivery was caught by Ritu Gautam when he needed two runs to win.
After that captain Sompal Kami hit a four off the first ball to give victory to Chitwan.

In the bowling, Kishore Mahto of Pokhara took 4 wickets for 27 runs in 3.5 overs. Nandan Yadav took 2 wickets for 26 runs in 4 overs. Batting first, Pokhara lost all their wickets in 17.5 overs and were all out for 111 runs.

Asela Gunaratne top-scored for Pokhara with 34, followed by Richard Levy (26), captain Binod Bhandari (22) and Bipin Rawal (17). The rest of the players could not score double digits.

Pokhara changed the opening pair and played the role of Vipin Rawal with Richard Levy. Both of these indicated a good start for Pokhara. But after sharing 37 runs for the first wicket, Levy got out.

On the third ball of the fourth over, Richard Levy scored 26 runs off 15 balls with five sixes. Dilip Nath takes the catch of Levi off the delivery of Karim Jannat. Ritu Gautam was out for 2 runs on the fifth ball of the fifth over. Ritu was dismissed by Kamal Singh Arie off Hasim Ansari.

On the last ball of the sixth over, Sompal gave a catch to Sahan Arachige off Shahab Alam. Pokhara scored 43 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in the power play.

Pokhara lost the fourth wicket for 59 runs after Vipin Rawal was dismissed for 17 on the third ball of the ninth over. Sagar Dhakal got Bipin caught by Shahab Alam.

After that Asela Gunaratne and captain Binod Bhandari tried to handle the innings. But Asela played 24 balls and scored 34 runs with the help of 3 fours and 1 six and got out in the 14th over. Asela was dismissed by Sekuge Prasanna off Dilip Nath.

Pokhara lost 2 wickets in the 15th over. Pokhara lost 7 for 101 in 15 overs after Chitwan’s Kamal Singh Eri dismissed Vivek Yadav and Lokesh Bam in the same over. Vivek, who was playing well this season, got out for 4 runs and Lakesh could not even open the account.

Captain Binod Bhandari tried to handle the innings from one side but lost wickets from the other side.

Soon after, Bikram Sob was dismissed for 1 in the next over. He was bowled by Sekuge Prasanna. After that Nandan Yadav did not open the account and Karim became LBW with the help of Jannat.

Captain Binod played 26 balls as the last wicket and scored 22 runs in the 18th over. Bowling from Chitwan, Kamal Singh Eri took 4 wickets for 20 runs in 3.5 overs.

Similarly, Karim Jannat and Sekuge Prasanna took 2 wickets each. While both bowled 3 overs, Prasanna scored 13 and Karim scored 15 runs. Captain Sompal Kami and Sagar Dhakal took a wicket each.

Chitwan dominated the individual awards. Emerging Player of the Tournament was declared as Bhim Sarkar. He scored 196 runs in the league. He was the tenth highest run scorer. He hit two half-centuries.

Dare to Dream Award went to Kamal Singh Eri of Chitwan Tigers. Sagar Dhakal of Chitwan was declared man of the series. He took 14 wickets in the league. Received Sagar Pulsar Motorcycle.

Photos: Shankar Giri / Online News

श्रोत : अनलाइनखबर

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *