Newly appointed president Lama says: Karate is not the same

12 Chait, Kathmandu. The Central General Assembly of Nepal Karate Federation, held in Chitwan on Saturday, has elected a 29-member working committee under the chairmanship of Ad-hoc Committee Coordinator Yuvraj Lama. With this, the decade-long controversy in Karate has come to an end.

In the year 2068, when he himself was the member secretary of the National Sports Council (Rakhep), two federations came into existence in Lamale Karate. The two federations had recognized each other amid the ongoing dispute over the Olympic Games. Lama, who at the time characterized his actions as a situational compulsion, has erased the guilt of his tenure a decade later.

After disbanding the internationally recognized Karate Federation led by Purendra Vikram Lakh and the nationally recognized Karate Federation led by Dawa Gurung, Rakhep had in January last year formed an ad hoc committee to hold elections within three months. formed. The committee was headed by Yuvraj Lama, former member secretary and former international karate player.

Within two months, the committee has completed the formation of the federation for the local general assembly and elections without any dispute. Lama himself has reached the leadership unopposed for the next four years. For the development of Nepal Karate, Lama has the challenge of preparing the national team as well as several policy reforms.

The main thing is that karate and science should be promoted together. This is a problem on many levels. There should be improvement in this. The chaos of the Belt trade has been too much to see of late. It has to be controlled and brought under the Nepal Karate Federation, Lama said in a conversation with online news after being elected.

The general body meeting held on Saturday also decided to develop a curriculum for teaching karate at the school level. President Lama himself took the initiative for this. The objective of this program is to prepare black belt athletes at the school level by teaching karate from classes 6 to 10. Learning karate in schools is one such program that has been implemented before. However, it was taking effect.

We recently conducted a school coach training program for 280 people of Bagmati. This should be continued throughout the country,’ said Lama, ‘this is a phase of the nationwide campaign. Karate is no longer what it used to be.’

For curriculum development, a five-member school karate curriculum development committee has been constituted in coordination with Dipendra Parajuli, including Omkrishna Prasen, Tulsi Maharajan, Mahesh Kumar Shrestha and Sulochana Sijkhas. Omkrishna Parsai, a member of the elected committee as vice president of the federation, told that most of the work has been completed.

More than 80 delegates from across the country gathered in Chitwan for the general meeting on Saturday. The General Assembly has increased the number of working committees prescribed in the statute. It was increased from 25 members to 29 members with four. President Lama told that there is no need for election on any post.

Representation of the four styles of karate (sitoryo, gojuryo, sotokan and waduryo) was also guaranteed among the office-bearers and members of the executive committee, as proposed by the Lama. In this way, the Lama argued that everyone in the federation would have equal rights.

President Lama has said that the preparation of the national karate team will start from March 15.

New Karate Executive Committee:

President: Yuvraj Lama
Senior Vice President: Harisharan KC
Vice Presidents: Prakashmohan Dhaubadel, Devkumar Lama, Makrendra Bahadur Singh, Omkrishna Prasen, Majindra Singh and Shyam Sherpa
Secretary General: Dawa Gurung
Secretaries: Dhwajaman Muktan and Balram Mitra
Treasurer: Kishore Prasad Bhattarai
Members: Ram Bahadur Singh Thakuri, Sanjaysunder Saiju, Ravi Maharajan, Hikmat Thapliya, Tara Prasad Oli, Yadav Kafle, Rajendra Rawal, Sasikumar Titung, Kamla Rana and Sanjay Kumar Rai
One member from each province was selected by the provincial working committee and sent – 7 persons.

श्रोत : अनलाइनखबर

Himal Sanchar