Prime Minister’s Cup ODI cricket to be held in October

Prime Minister's Cup ODI cricket to be held in October

Vinod Bhandari and Sharad Bheshwakar with the trophy. file picture

4 October, Kathmandu. The Prime Minister’s Cup national cricket tournament will be held in October.

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) is preparing to organize the fifth edition of the Prime Minister’s Cup men’s cricket from November 12 to 26 as part of the program of the National Sports Council (Rakhep).

According to CAN acting secretary Prashant Vikram Malla, this time the tournament will be in the one-day format. In view of the T20 World Cup qualifiers held in Oman last year, the fourth edition was organized in the T20 format.

After men’s cricket of the 9th National Games was completed and the Nepal T20 League, which was to begin on October 8, has been shifted to November, Cannes has pushed forward the Prime Minister’s Cup cricket this year.

Ten teams from seven provinces and three departments will participate in the competition. The participating teams will be divided into two groups.

Can’s acting secretary Malla said arrangements would be made to allow the team to play more matches this time. ‘It’s 15 days. We’re going to use a new method so that a team can play up to 6 games’, Moll said, adding that each team will have a playoff game to differentiate the position.

CAN has already sent letters to the respective districts and provinces for the Prime Minister’s Cup.

The district can select the team from the camp or through the competition, while the province must complete the competition by October 6. After that there will be a Tihar break and after the end of Tihar, the Prime Minister’s Cup National Tournament will start.

Nepal will play the series in Namibia in November as part of the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2. In which Nepal, Namibia and Scotland will play. Can trust that the Prime Minister’s Cup will also help in its preparation.

The Ligue 2 series will take place in Namibia from 2 to 9 December i.e. 16 to 24 November.

The National Sports Council introduced the Prime Minister’s Cup from 2017 when CAN was suspended from the ICC. After the suspension of CAN is lifted, CAN itself is organizing the Prime Minister’s Cup with the financial support of the National Sports Council.

In the first edition of the Prime Minister’s Cup, Nepal Army and Nepal Police Club became the joint winners. The second edition was won by the APF, the third edition by the Nepal Police Club and the fourth edition by the Army. The army has been playing the final of every edition.

श्रोत : अनलाइनखबर

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Himal Sanchar