Sanyog and Navita Champion

                    29 February, Kathmandu.  Sanyog Kapali and Navita Shrestha of Nepal Police became champions in the 12th Poornaman Vajracharya Memorial National Open Table Tennis Tournament.  In open singles, Sanyog and Navita finished first in men's and women's singles respectively.

In the men’s final held at the National Table Tennis Training Center in Lanchor, Sanyog defeated his own club Vinesh Khanian in sets 11-9, 7-11, 15-13, 13-11 and 14-12. Ruvin Maharajan of AVM Table Tennis Club and Chandan Shahi of Galkopakha Seva Samaj finished third.

In the women’s title match, national champion Navita defeated Raveena Maharajan of Saubhagya Jewelers in 1-11, 11-3, 11-8, 11-4, 7-11, 11-4 sets.

Police’s Manju Suwal and Yashasvi Aval stood third. The top three finishers in both men and women won cash prizes of Rs 50,000, Rs 25,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively.

Under the aegis of All Nepal Table Tennis Association, Police secured first position in the women’s team event of the tournament organized by Kathmandu District Table Tennis Association.

Police beat Saubhagya Jewelers 3-1 in the final. Prime Global and Kantipur Valley Pingpong Club came third.

Manohari Thapa defeated Madan Acharya in straight sets 11-3, 11-8, 11-8 in the media men’s singles final to claim the first spot. Suman Pradhan stood third.

In the competition, the prime team from the college became the champion by winning 2 gold and 1 bronze. Shrujana Gyan Sagar from the school became the group winner by winning 1 gold, 2 silver and 4 bronze.

Dharmaman Bajracharya, president of the Kathmandu District Table Tennis Association, said 300 players in 34 different events participated in the five-day tournament with the slogan ‘Table Tennis for All’.

श्रोत : अनलाइनखबर

Himal Sanchar