T20 World Cup: Bangladesh beat PNG by 84 runs in Super 12

4 October, Kathmandu. Bangladesh entered the Super 12 of the ICC T20 World Cup after beating Papua New Guinea (PNG) in an all-round performance from Shakib Al Hasan.

Bangladesh beat PNG by 84 runs in their last Group B match on Thursday. PNG, chasing Bangladesh’s target of 182 runs, got all out for 97 with three balls to spare.

Bangladesh, who lost to Scotland in the first game, then beat Oman and PNG to add four points from three games to make it to the Super 12s.

Bangladesh topped the group. Home team Oman and Scotland are playing today. If Scotland wins the game, it will be the group winner. Oman will be the group winners if they beat Scotland by 79 runs.

PNG, who made her debut in the T20 World Cup, has lost all three matches of the group.

Bangladesh’s high score in the batting of Shakib and Mahmudullah

Bangladesh scored over 180 runs in this game after failing to bat well in the last two matches. Batting first after winning the toss, Bangladesh scored 181 runs for the loss of seven wickets with the help of captain Mahmudullah’s half-century. Although Mohammad Naeem was dismissed in the first over, Liton Das and Shakib Al Hasan put on a half-century partnership for the second wicket.

Shakib played 37 balls and added 46 runs with the help of 3 sixes. Liton scored 29 runs in 23 balls. After this Mahmudullah scored a half-century in 27 balls. He played 28 balls and added 50 runs with the help of 3 fours and 3 sixes. Afif Hossain scored 21 runs in 14 balls while Mohammad Saifuddin scored an unbeaten 19 off 6 balls. PNG’s Kabua Morea, Damien Rabhu and captain Asad Bhala took 2-2 wickets.

Shakib’s deadly bowling

Chasing a high target of 182, PNG could not cope with the loss of early wickets.

Wicketkeeper Kiplin Doriga scored an unbeaten 46 and all the other players could not survive. Chad Soper added 11 runs. The remaining nine players could not touch the double digit run.

Shakib took 4 wickets by dismissing PNG for 97 runs. He spent only 9 runs in 4 overs. Similarly, Mohammad Saifideen and Taskin Ahmed took 2 wickets each. Mehdi Hassan took 1 wicket.

श्रोत : अनलाइनखबर

Himal Sanchar