Which party won how many seats in the state assembly of Gandaki?

8 November, Pokhara. Till now the results of 27 seats of Gandaki State Assembly have been declared. According to the latest results, the Nepali Congress is on the first position by winning the elections on 14 seats.

The Gandaki State Legislative Assembly has 36 direct seats out of 60 seats. Out of which CPN-UML is second by winning 7 seats. CPN Maoist Center has won 4 seats. Nepal Samajwadi Party and Swatantra have secured 1/1 position.

The Nepali Congress has won in both the constituencies of Mustang. Munindrajung Gurung of the Congress won in Manang Province (1), while Rajeev Gurung ‘Deepak Manange’, who was also Gandaki’s sports minister, who stood as an independent candidate for the provincial assembly (2), was elected unopposed.

In Gorkha, the Nepal Samajwadi Party and the Maoists won one constituency each and the Congress two. Similarly, the Congress has made a clean sweep on two seats in Lamjung.

UML has won Tanhun constituency number 2 (1) and Congress has won (2). Tanhun Sector No. 1 final result has not been released yet. However, as per the latest count, the Nepali Congress has a lead in Provincial Region 1 and the CPN-Maoist Center in Region 2.

The UML has won Saengja 1 (1) while the results for (2) are yet to come from the province. However, Siangja’s area no. 2 votes have not yet been counted. The CPN-UML has demanded re-polls alleging rigging at 4 polling stations in Syangja Chapakot. The UML has filed a complaint with the Election Commission saying that the ruling 5-party alliance captured booths and cast votes in the names of those who died and were abroad. The commission is yet to give a decision on re-polling or counting of votes.

Kaski has 6 seats in the state assembly. Out of which the results of 3 have come. UML won 2 seats and Congress won 1 seat.

According to the result, Kaski area no. UML has won 2(1) and Kaski 1(2) and Congress has won Kaski 2(2). Till the time of preparation of the news, in the remaining 3 seats where counting of votes is going on, Congress is ahead on another CPN-UML 2.

The Maoists have won both the Provincial Assembly 1 and 2 from Myagdi. Congress has won all the 4 state seats in Baglung.

In the 2074 election, the UML and CPN Maoists won a majority in the provincial assembly in alliance with the Left. At that time, the UML won 27 seats and the Maoists won 12 seats in the provincial assembly.

Later, when the same left coalition was united and the CPN was formed, there was an umbrella rule in the provincial assembly. The CPN got 40 seats in the provincial assembly. It was led by Prithvisubba Gurung who won the election from Lamjung.

Rajeev Gurung, who contested as an independent candidate from Manang and won the election, got the support of ‘Deepak Manange’ and two-thirds of the then CPI(M) joined the provincial government. However, after the dissolution of the House of Representatives, the UML had to withdraw from the provincial government headed by Prithvisubba due to party disintegration and power struggle.

Power sharing The CPN-Maoist sided with the Congress, which got the role of the main opposition party. The Congress won 15 seats in the state assembly with proportional representation. The state assembly had 3 MPs with proportional representation from the Rashtriya Jan Morcha and 2 MPs from the erstwhile New Shakti Party.

In 2074, the UML, which formed the Left alliance with the Maoists, had 17 direct seats, the CPN-Maoists had 9, the Nepali Congress had 6, the Jana Morcha had 2, and Nayashakti and Swatantra had 1. / 1 seat each.

Source: OnlineKhabar

Leave a Comment

Himal Sanchar