Who is the scientist who received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry this year? so is nelibeli

Kathmandu. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has announced the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the year 2022.

According to which three scientists have received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry this year. Carolyn R. for her contribution to the development of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry. Bertozzi, Morten Meldahl and K. Barry Sharpless was awarded the Nobel Prize.

Who are these scientists? And what is their contribution? Let us know in detail.

Caroline R. bertoszyk

American chemist Carolyn was born on 10 October 1966 in Boston. He has made significant contributions in both chemistry and biology. He named the chemical reaction with living systems as ‘bioorthogonal chemistry’. Caroline, 55, graduated from Harvard University in 1988 and received her PhD in chemistry from the University of Berkeley in 1993. He began teaching at Berkeley in 1996 after completing his postdoctoral work in the field of cellular immunology. Similarly, in 2015, he joined Stanford University.

Carolyn’s research and laboratory are concerned with changes in cell surface glycosylation in cancer, bacterial infections, and inflammation. He has also received various honors and awards from that research. He is also an elected member of the Institute of Medicine, the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has previously received the Lemelson MIT Award, the Heinrich Wallend Award and the MacArthur Foundation Fellowship. Caroline’s father, William Bertozzi, was a physics professor at MIT.

morton meldall

Danish chemist Morten P. Meldl was born on 6 January 1954. He is Professor of Chemistry at the University of Copenhagen. He is known for his use of the CuAAC click reaction.

He received his MSc in Chemical Engineering from the Technical University of Denmark in 1981 and a Master’s degree in Organic Chemistry in 1983. From 1988 to 2011, he held various positions at the University of Copenhagen. He was also the synthesis leader at the Carlsberg Lab and became a professor in 2003.

He has developed various new techniques of combinatorial chemistry and peptide chemistry. His interest lies in the development of bio-organic chemistry and polymers, enzymology and GPCR. He was called Ralph F. Hirschman and Vincent du Vignod have received various national and international awards.

The Barry Sharpless

American chemist Carl Barry Sharpless was born on 28 April 1941 in Philadelphia. He is known for his contributions to stereoselective reactions and click chemistry. He has also received the Nobel Prize in 2001. In 2001, he received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his contributions in the field of chirally catalyzed oxidation reactions.

After graduating from Friends Central School in 1959, he continued to study chemistry on the advice of his research professor, although he wanted to study medicine. In 1968, he graduated from Stanford University with a degree in organic chemistry and went to Harvard University after his doctorate. There he studied enzymology in the laboratory of Konrad E. Bloch. He was a professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology for several years. While at Stanford, he discovered sharpless asymmetric epoxidation.

  • with the help of the agency

Source: OnlineKhabar

Himal Sanchar